​Abou​​​t ​​Life Cycle Management Group

The Life Cycle Management Group (LCMG) was formed in 2003 to provide NATO a group through which the concept of Life Cycle Management could  be developed and introduced into NATO’s and nations’ defence systems acquisition processes.   The international standard, ISO/IEC 15288, System life Cycle Processes, was adopted as the basis for the development of the Life Cycle Management approach in NATO.  A NATO Policy for Systems Life Cycle Management (SLCM) was agreed by the North Atlantic Council in 2006. 
The Policy states that “To achieve an integrated approach to the delivery of defence related capabilities for NATO operations, it is Alliance policy that Nations and NATO Authorities apply the principles of Systems Life Cycle Management as elaborated in the policy document”.
The aim of the LCMG is to optimise defence capabilities taking into account performance, cost, schedule, quality, operational environments, integrated logistics support and obsolescence over the life cycle of the system.
 Area of Responsibility
As a Main Group subordinate to the Conference of National Armaments Directors (CNAD),  it is responsible for NATO policies, methods, procedures and agreements concerning the acquisition, use, support and disposal of armaments systems and services and equipment to meet NATO life cycle, quality and interoperability requirements.

 Working Groups
The LCMG has 5 Working Groups (WGs). They  are composed of subject matter experts from participating nations and other NATO bodies. They are formed by the approval of the Main Group to perform tasks documented in activity sheets. The aim of each WG is to address a specific subject, assigned by the Main Group, that could lead to potential collaboration or standardisation. WGs are established as a domain group, based on the need to maintain critical skills, consistent national implementation, synchronization with civil standards, and management of NATO processes. However, WGs can also be established for a pre-designated period of time (otherwise called a “Sunset Clause”) to address specific areas of activity.

The LCMG will develop and maintain Life Cycle policy, methods, procedures and agreements covering, but not limited to, the following:
  • Government procurement practices
  • Project management methods and procedures
  • Modalities for Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and contracting
  • Quality Assurance requirements
  • Government Quality Assurance framework
  • Life Cycle information framework
  • Life Cycle cost issues
  • Risk management requirements
  • In-service environment definition and testing requirements
  • Integrated logistic support
  • In-service support requirements and execution
  • Obsolescence management requirements
  • Disposal management requirements
  • Technical interoperability requirements
  • Government Configuration Management Framework
  • Configuration Management requirements​

​Participating Partner Nations
Austria, Bosnia Herzegovina, Finland, Moldova, Serbia, Sweden, Ukraine, Brazil

​​For access to further information on the Defence Investment Portal contact your National Delegation at NATO HQ.